Collaboration with Jacob Albee, Goldsmith

I recently worked with a talented designer/goldsmith in the area to provide him with high quality domestic woods for a new line of jewelry he is developing. Spalted maple is one of the promising woods because it has a great variety of color running through it. I look forward to seeing Jake’s new designs. Visit jacobalbee.com to see current work.

Spalting is caused by fungi working its way through wood – usually in fallen trees or standing deadwood. It occurs in fairly specialized conditions. The material I provided for Jake had traces of spalt in it when I got it from the sawyer. I stored the wood close to the ground and covered it to promote the fungal growth. Some of the boards yielded spectacular results.

Sam Norris Furniture Spalted Wood

Spalted Wood

About this entry